A Listen to this page
Home > Your council > News and media > Media pack > Introducing the City of Lincoln Council

Introducing City of Lincoln Council

Your council

We are one of seven district councils in Lincolnshire, operating in a two-tier system of local government alongside Lincolnshire County Council.

We employ around 800 staff across four directorates:

  • Chief Executive and Town Clerk’s
  • Communities and Environment
  • Housing and regeneration
  • Major Developments

Your councillors

The city is divided into 11 wards, each represented by three councillors – giving a total of 33 council members. The council is elected by thirds on a four yearly cycle. This means that one seat in each ward is elected each year for three years out of every four.

The council operates a leader and cabinet model of governance and there are six councillors on the Executive, including the Leader and Deputy Leader.

The council’s current political composition is 26 Labour, six Conservative and one Independent, creating a Labour-controlled council.

You can view a list of councillors by ward.

You can find out more about what we do by reading our key documents.


Tel: 01522 873384

Email: communications@lincoln.gov.uk

If you can't find what you're looking for visit our contact us page for a number of options which may help.