About us

About the City of Lincoln Council

We are one of seven district councils in Lincolnshire, operating in a two-tier system of local government alongside Lincolnshire County Council.

We employ around 800 staff across four directorates:


The city is divided into 11 wards, each represented by three councillors – giving a total of 33 council members.

  • The council is elected by thirds on a four yearly cycle. This means that one seat in each ward is elected each year for three years out of every four.
  • The council operates a leader and cabinet model of governance and there are six councillors on the Executive, including the Leader and Deputy Leader.
  • Councillor List

Further Information